Walking Through History

Walking Through History

3 Seasons

Appealing to history buffs and dedicated ramblers alike, in this new three-part series Tony Robinson embarks on spectacular walks through some of Britainís most historic landscapes in search of the richest stories from Britainís past.

Walking Through History
  • Bronte Country

    Episode 1

    Bronte Country. Tonyís walk tells the life story of the remarkable Bronte family and explores how the moors inspired their most famous novels.

  • Victoria Albert's Highland Fling

    Episode 2

    Tony walks across the Cairngorms to Balmoral, in the footsteps of Victoria and Albert who discovered and promoted the Scottish Highlands, enthusiastically adopting the kilt, the Highland Games, hunting, and fishing.

  • The Norman Conquest of Pembrokeshire

    Episode 3

    Tony traces the Norman conquest of this corner of Wales which still feels more English than the rest of the country, nearly 1000 years later.

  • Nazi Occupation of the Channel Islands

    Episode 4

    For five years, the Channel Islands were occupied by the Germans, the only part of the British Isles to be so.

  • King John's Ruin the Peak District

    Episode 5

    Nowhere is fact and fiction so entwined than in the stories of King John, Robin Hood, and the Sheriff of Nottingham. Yet out of this legendary time came the Magna Carta, a foundation stone of modern democracy.

  • England's Last Battle - The West Country

    Episode 6

    In 1685, a rebel army landed at the pretty Dorset port of Lyme Regis and swept up through Somerset, pausing at Taunton to declare its leader, Duke of Monmouth, the rightful king.